Regional Development Council


Regional Development Council

Established by the Regional Development Commissions Act 1993, the Regional Development Council is a key advisory body to the Western Australian Government on regional development issues.

The Council consists of the chairs of the nine (9) Regional Development Commissions.


Council functions

The function of the Council is to be the advisory body to the Minister for Regional Development on all regional development issues and for that purpose:
  • to promote development in the regions
  • to develop policy proposals on development issues affecting one or more of the regions
  • to facilitate liaison between commissions and relevant government agencies and the coordination of their respective functions
  • to promote liaison between local, State and Commonwealth government bodies with respect to regional issues, and the coordination of their respective policies on those issues
  • to report to the Minister on matters referred to it by the Minister


The Regional Development Council meets 6 times per year and is supported by the Department of Primary Industries and ​Regional Development.


Regional Development Council members

The current Council members are:
Rebecca Tomkinson (Chair)Chair, Wheatbelt Development Commission
Tim Glenister
​Chair, Mid West Development Commission ​

Andy Munro​​

Chair, Gascoyne Development Commission​

Sabina Shugg

Chair, Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission​

​Bruce Manning
​Chair, Great Southern Development Commission
James BrownChair, Kimberley Development Commission
Paddi Creevey OAM​

Chair, Peel Development Commission​

Brendan Hammond

Chair, Pilbara Development Commission​

Nick Belyea

Chair, South West Development Commission​

Ralph Addis
Director General, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development

Regional Development Council reports



Contact the Regional Development Council


E:​  ​
Tel: +61 8 6552 1875
Level 12, 140 William Street, Perth WA 6000