Trust members


 WARDT banner

Trust Membership


Trust Members are appointed by the Minister for Regional Development generally for a term of three years.  The appointment of a Member under section 13(1)(a), as representative of the regional development commissions, is for a one year term.

​​Brendan Hammond web.jpgBrendan Hammond​ ​

Chair – appointed to 1 November 2018 (appo​​inted as per section 13(1)(b), 14 and (15)1 of the Royalties for Regions Act 2009).

A skilled executive and senior leader, Brendan has more than 22 years of experience in senior roles across energy, water, ports and resources sectors, including as Managing Director of Rio Tinto Argyle Diamonds. He has more than ten years of contiguous experience as a board Chairperson of listed businesses and government trading enterprises, including Horizon Power and the Dampier Port Authority. Brendan has a proven track record of working with regional communities, in Western Australia and around the world, to drive economic and social change. He is a partner in Centric Digital LLC (New York), the owner of Seymour Associates Pty Ltd, and contributes widely in the not-for-profit sector through a number of roles. Brendan is also Chair of the Pilbara Development Commission.

Brendan actively seeks to impart his experience and knowledge to the next generation of leaders, most recently as an Adjunct Professor of Sustainability with the Curtin University of Technology Sustainability Policy Institute. In 2011, Brendan was awarded the Western Australian Citizen of the Year award for his contribution to regional development.

Karlie Mucjanko​Karlie Mucjanko ​

Deputy Chair – appointed to 1 December 2018 (appointed as per section 13(1)(b) of the Royalties for Regions Act 2009). Assumed the role of Deputy Chair from 4 July 2016. 

Karlie Mucjanko is a strategic communications specialist with experience in managing brands and reputations, complex stakeholder relationships and communications.  She has spent the last 17 years working in agriculture in Australia primarily communicating with and on behalf of famers and rural communities through her roles with farm organisations such as the WA Farmers Federation and the national farm information group, Kondinin Group.

In 2005, Karlie Joined the CBH Group to continue this work and in 2008 took on the role of General Manager Grower and External Regions where she has carriage for managing CBH's relationships with its grain growers, rural communities, Federal, State and Local governments, and media and industry groups.

Karlie is a member of the Executive Management Committee at CBH and is heavily involved in the day to day management of one of Australia's largest agribusinesses.

Karlie is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Paul Farrell​Paul Farrell

​Trust Member – appointed to 8 June 2019 (appointed as per section 13(1)(b) of the Royalties for Regions Act 2009).  

Paul Farrell is the Managing Director of NGIS Australia and is a complete provider of digital and mapping technology solutions to large enterprises. He has worked with the business for 22 years in a variety of locations, including Australia, Vietnam and Hong Kong.

Paul has an appetite for seeing how far information technology can change business and society for the better.  He is sought after by both government and commercial entities to explore opportunities for business transformation by making data and technology open, accessible and location enabled. 

Paul has an interest in using digital means to assist regional areas to be more connected and productive, as well as helping promote the comparative advantages of each of our regions both nationally and internationally.

Paul is Vice Chair of the Australian Information Industry Association, as well as being a past National Chairman of the Spatial Industry Business Association, representing almost 400 member companies.

Paul is voluntarily involved as a member of the Mel Maria School Board and is a former President of the North Fremantle Amateur Football Club. 


kate_chaney.jpgKate Chaney

​Trust Member – appointed to 15 December 2019 (appointed as per section 13(1)(b) of the Royalties for Regions Act 2009). 

Kate Chaney has worked in a range of strategy roles in the private sector, with a focus on the community impact of business.

Kate has led projects for commercial and non-profit clients for a leading global strategy consulting firm, The Boston Consulting Group.  She spent 7 years at Wesfarmers, as Aboriginal Affairs Manager, Sustainability and Community Partnerships Manager and General Manager Emerging Ventures. 

Kate was General Manager Business Development at Perth Airport, managing retail, ground transport and route development.   Before obtaining her Masters of Business Administration she was a commercial lawyer at a leading national firm. 

Kate currently sits on the board of The Australian Futures Project, Awesome Arts and the advisory board of the WA Venture Philanthropy Fund.  She spent five years on the board of Lifeline WA, including as Chair and Deputy Chair.


 Michael_McConachy.jpg  Michael McConachy

​Trust Member – appointed to ​30 June ​2018 (appointed as per section 13(1)(a) of the  Royalties for Regions Act 2009) as Chair of the Kimberley Development Commission. ​

Michael McConachy moved to the Kimberley in 2009 with his family, bringing a wealth of business and leadership experience with him in the areas of business, tourism, agriculture, construction and aviation.

As a Managing Director of several local Companies, including: Helicopter Film Services Pty Ltd trading as HeliSpirit, Aviair Pty Ltd, Kimberley Cultural Tours Pty Ltd, Freshwater Quality Management Pty Ltd, Kimberley Land Holdings Pty Ltd, H.M. Developments Pty Ltd and Top End Building Company, he has a strong understanding of governance and accountability. He has used this in a voluntary capacity as a founding Committee Member and Chairperson of the East Kimberley Marketing Group. Michael is also a past Council President, St Joseph's School, Kununurra.

Since 1999, Michael has been Owner/Managing Director, Agrivision International Pty Ltd and Managing Director, Integrated Dairies of Australia Pty Ltd. Prior to this he worked as; Agricultural Consultant, Riverina F.A.R.M (Financial and Rural Management), Farm Manager, Strathfieldsaye Estate (University of Melbourne) and General Manager, International Agribusiness Australia.

Michael is committed to regional development of the Kimberley in partnership with regional stakeholders in recognition of its potential.