The Wheatbelt Way


The Wheatbelt Way


Project status: Completed September 2013


The Wheatbelt Way is a self-drive road trail through the nine northern Wheatbelt communities of Dowerin, Wyalkatchem, Koorda, Bencubbin, Beacon, Westonia, Mukinbudin, Nungarin and Trayning.

Royalties for Regions supported an upgrade to facilities at natural attractions and historical sites along the route, including:

  • Walkways
  • Information bays
  • Interpretive signage
  • Street furniture
  • Toilets
  • Fire rings for campers
  • Route markers
  • Caravan park improvements
  • Tourism office upgrades.

The Wheatbelt Way has increased tourism, business start-ups and expansion, as well as helped to protect the region's heritage, history and natural features. 

It has also given the northern Wheatbelt a brand, recognition and something unique to build community pride and attract new visitors.

The upgrades were funded by:

  • Department of Regional Development's Royalties for Regions program:
    • $1.87 million of through the Country Local Government Fund; and
    • $182,325 through the Regional Colocation Scheme.
    • Lotterywest - $99,999