Wheatbelt mapWheatbelt

The Wheatbelt spans across 154,862 square kilometres in the south west of Western Australia and has five subregions: Avon, Central Coast, Central East, Central Midlands and Wheatbelt South.

The region has a diverse landscape across its subregions, from the pristine white beaches and clear turquoise waters of Cervantes and Jurien Bay, to rolling hills and winding streams in the Avon Valley, to the rugged and magnificent terrain along the Wheatbelt Way.

Thanks to the State Government's Royalties for Regions program the Wheatbelt community and visitors to the region can enjoy improved local infrastructure and services that will enhance their experience of the region.

Living, working and investing in the Wheatbelt

The Wheatbelt is made up of 42 local government authorities:

WheatbeltThe estimated resident population of the Wheatbelt was 75,000 in 2013. The Shire of Northam is the largest resident base in the region with more than 11,700 people, compared to the majority of community sizes which fall between 500-1000 residents.

The clear division into subregions makes it unique to other regions in Western Australia as with no dominant regional centre the infrastructure and service provision models that work in other areas are not suitable.

Agriculture and mining are the region's main revenue earners. The Wheatbelt's agricultural industry is the state's main producer of cereal crops and contributes to other products such as canola, olives, vegetables, wine grapes, honey, citrus fruits and livestock. While agriculture remains the dominant industry, the economy is also supported by mining, commerce, retail, manufacturing, fishing and tourism.

For more information visit the Wheatbelt Development Commission's website or contact your local Community Resource Centre.


Wheatbelt Region in profile – economy and community


Projects in the Wheatbelt