Regions Map
Content Begin

Map of Goldfields-Esperance RegionGoldfields-Esperance

The Goldfields-Esperance region is located in the south eastern corner of Western Australia and covers 770,488 square kilometres (including offshore islands). It is the largest of the State’s nine regions and over three times the size of the state of Victoria.
Geographically, the region is bounded by the Pilbara region to the north, the Wheatbelt region to the west, the Great Southern region to the south-west, the Southern Ocean to the south and the WA border to the east.
The City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder and the shires of Coolgardie, Dundas, Esperance, Laverton, Leonora, Menzies, Ngaanyatjarraku and Ravensthorpe are located within the region.
The region supports a wide range of industry including mining, agriculture, aquaculture and tourism. Mining is the predominant sector in the central and northern parts of the region, with a well-established agricultural sector in the south.

Local Government Authority

The local government districts of the Goldfields-Esperance Region:
Coolgardie, Dundas, Esperance, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Laverton, Leonora, Menzies, Ngaanyatjarraku and Ravensthorpe.
More detailed information, including maps and profiles of each Shire, is available on the Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission’s website.

Living, working and investing in the Goldfields-Esperance region

The Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission’s website provides a wealth of material on the Goldfields-Esperance region, including information on:
  • Statistics
  • Regional economic perspective
  • Industry profiles
  • Community profiles
  • Living in the region
  • Projects and grants.
In addition, you may wish to view our Statewide statistical reports.